Sunday, January 29, 2023

Places To Stay In Canyon City

The Town Area Was Unremarkable

Grand Canyon National Park Part 2: Other Places to Visit | Things to Do in Arizona

The town area was unremarkable. Skyline drive was neat. The gorge was neat. We went for fall leaf viewing because we read it’s a great area for that but that was unfortunately not accurate. A lot of places closed. Frustrated that we drove all the way there and were mostly unimpressed. Don’t see any reason to return.

Nice Hotel On East Side Of Town

Nice hotel as you enter Canon City from the east. Services are good and there are couple restaurants near by as is the famous Abbey with Winery … Many of the other sites are further west but not too far away.

BWCanonCity-Manager, Manager at Best Western Canon City, responded to this review Thank you for your recent stay at our property and complementing our services and amenities.

Didn’t Stay But Anis Is A

A botched confirmation led to our room being given away without notice, but Anis helped us out and got us a nice room down the road. One call and he made it happen on Labor Day Weekend! We were pretty miffed at first, since they did not email after the cell number was written down incorrectly, but they made good. Good folks!

BWCanonCity-Manager, Manager at Best Western Canon City, responded to this review We are sorry that our front desk attendant messed up your reservation. It does not happen hardly at all but when it does we try to go out of our way to make it right. I am glad that we were able to find you your room over Labor Day weekend. We hope that the next time you are in town that you will give us another shot.

Also Check: Best Places To Stay In Winthrop Wa

Has Everything You Need

Stayed one night, staff was very nice, everything was in working order and good condition, sauna, hot tub – didn’t use fitness center, room had all amenities we look for . Bed was comfortable.

BWCanonCity-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Canon City, responded to this review Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you next time your in town.

Beautiful Place Lots Of Nice Little Town Shops

5 BEST Places to Stay in Bryce Canyon National Park (2021 ...

Beautiful place, lots of nice little town shops. I recommend Pizza Madness for some good pizza! Obviously, Royal Gorge bridge is a main attraction and definitely worth it. However, I found this place called, Canon Citys Tunnel Drive Trailhead, this is an awesome hiking place. That being said bring your boots if you visit, its worth the hike but good shoes and bug spray are a must.

Read Also: Best Place To Stay In Mykonos

Keep An Eye On Your Credit Card Bill

Paper thin walls, could hear people in other rooms talking and even their footsteps…. They, as of right now, have put the total two night stay charges as a pending charge THREE times on our card. When notifying them of this, they told us that was normal policy. We have never had s hotel do this before. We have had some places TELL us there will be a $100 pending charge. NEVER two to three times the total bill. We will not be staying at this hotel on future visits to Canon City.

Comfortable Beds But Smelly Room

The day of check in, the hotel didn’t have any electricity, therefore it was very muggy in the lobby. Our room had a terrible smell of mold. We turned the a/c on thinking it would help, but the smell just lingered in the room. Thank goodness we were only staying one night. Breakfast in the morning was so so. The hotel staff were very friendly though. If I came back to this area, I would seek a different hotel.

Also Check: Winthrop Wa Activities

Not Up To Bw’s Usual Standards

I often stay in Best Westerns because many of their sites are dog-friendly and I usually travel with at least one dog. Being a major chain, BW is pretty dependable and predictable. This one let me down. When I got into my room, I immediately noticed a high-pitched, continuous sound. I went to the front desk, and the clerk came to my room to hear the sound himself. “Oh,” he told me, “That’s the refrigerator — they all do that.” Seriously? And people sleep thru the racket? Altho I had intended to use the refrigerator, I ended up just unplugging it to stop the noise. Speaking of noise, the floor of the room above me creaked with every step taken by the occupants. I got used to it, but if you’re a light sleeper, it could be disturbing. I was also disappointed with the cleanliness — or rather, the lack of cleanliness. The carpet looked dirty and was stained, and I don’t usually even notice stuff like that, so for me to notice it meant it was really dirty. This motel charged $20 per pet, which is only slightly on the high side Note to management: when a motel claims to be dog-friendly, it would make sense for them to supply numerous poo-bag locations on the grounds, with trash cans nearby. I would not stay here again, but this experience did not discourage me from staying at other BW’s.

Tour Of Minning Towns In Colorado

Top 10 Places In South Africa | Best Places To Visit In South Africa | South Africa Travel Guide

We stayed at Best Western in July 2016. Mark who checked us in did a great job. We had trouble getting our free night, but Mark took care of everything. The room was great. Very nice sleeping. Room was clean and fresh. And of course the Breakfast at Best Western is always great. Very good wifi. Close to attractions and places to eat.

Recommended Reading: Cheap Hotels In Los Angeles

Family Canon City Stay

With Covid restrictions, I was curious to see how our stay would be. Everything was explained on what we could do and what the hotel staff would do. At anytime if I had a questions, they were very understanding and helpful. My family and I enjoyed our time and did not feel that we were in danger nor were we worried about Covid issues. I felt like all of the guests were equally as courteous to each other in respect of distance and patience in any situation.

Things To See And Do In Williams

See animals in their natural habitats as you explore Bearizona Wildlife Park.

Ride the historic Grand Canyon Railway from Williams through to the canyon.

Visit the Williams Depot, a train station dating back to 1908.

Walk, feed and interact with deer at the Grand Canyon Deer Farm.

Wander throughout the Downtown Historic District of Williams.

Trek to the viewpoint at the top of Sycamore Canyon.

Eat spicy, savoury and delicious food at Kicks on Route 66.

Satisfy your appetite with a range of delightful offerings at Pine Country Restaurant.

Sip a great coffee and indulge in a tasty treat at Grand Canyon Coffee and Café.

Recommended Reading: Best Resorts In Oahu For Honeymoon

Best Place To Stay In Canon City

Stayed there with family while on a vacation of rafting and other stuff. We are glad we picked this place. We felt it was the best place to stay in canon city.

  • Trip type: Travelled with family
  • Value

0.4 km

  • Free Wifi

0.8 km

  • Free Wifi

3.0 km

  • Free Wifi

5.0 km

  • Free Wifi

5.1 km

  • Free Wifi

1.3 km

  • Free Wifi

4.1 km

  • Free Wifi

12.8 km

  • Free Wifi

12.1 km

  • Free Wifi

643648733

Nice hotel, short on personal. Had to wait at the desk upon arrival for someone to check us in for several minutes. Would stay there again.

  • Value

My family and me recently stayed at the Hampton on a CO vacation. After reading the reviews of all the hotels in Canon City I was not sure where to stay. The Hampton turned out to be real nice. The room was clean and ok sized. The staff was helpful. All in all it was a good stay. The only con to the whole thing was the price it was the most expensive room of our travel to and from CO.

  • Trip type: Travelled with family
  • Value
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
  • Value
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
  • Value

I Didn’t Stay At This Hotel

Where to Stay in Grand Canyon

I got charged for this hotel and I didn’t stay and canceled 2 days before the reservation date. I thought the policy was 24 hours. I would not recommend this hotel, the customer service is horrible and I got cheated.

BWCanonCity-Manager, Manager at Best Western Canon City, responded to this review Dear phillipv579, It was not 2 days before that you tried to cancel it was the same date as the date of arrival which would be not in the 24 hour time frame. We are sorry you feel cheated, but from reading your post you knew clearly what the policy was, it does no good to lie on this site.

Recommended Reading: Winthrop Places To Stay

Nice Clean And Friendly Staff

Our beds were comfy, roomy and clean. We did not see the pool area but it seemed family’s were enjoying it. The breakfast that was included in the room price was very good and well attended even as the service was coming to a close.

BWCanonCity-Manager, Manager at Best Western Canon City, responded to this review Thank you for the kind review we hope to see you again

Rock Climb Via Feratta

Via Feratta is a rock climbing system that was created during World War I to help troops who were not expert rock climbers to be able to climb cliffs. Steel cables and rungs are secured to the cliff so that you can safely climb an otherwise dangerously steep cliff. This particular via ferrata is run by the Royal Gorge Bridge and Park.

I saw this activity when we visited Royal Gorge on a day trip from Colorado Springs last summer. I actually though to myself, What kind of crazy people scale the walls of a 1,000 foot cliff? Well I guess, me. When I was offered the opportunity as a part of a press trip I figured it was one of those bucket list items that I would regret not doing.

Via Ferrata Royal Gorge was not nearly as scary or difficult as I thought it would be. You are harnessed in to the climbing system the entire time. And, you can choose different levels of difficulty of routes. We chose an easier route.

But I was very proud of myself when I reached the top. I tell my kids all the time that it is normal to be scared and that the true test is being able to get through that fear to do something you didnt think you could or would ever do. I dont walk that talk enough. But did with this.

The via ferrata climbing systems have become popular throughout Colorado. There are now several diverse options from guided to self-guided routes.

Also Check: Snowmobile Rentals In Houghton Mi

Unpleasant Owner Doesn’t Even Cut It

I am a platinum rewards member and have stayed at this property under former owners. I recently made a prepaid reservation with a good rate. While a suite upgrade was available and the front desk wanted to give it to me upon check in, the new owner flatly refused to do so and personally cancelled my reservation when I spoke to corporate on the subject. Heads up, this happened on Memorial Day weekend and while he refunded payment to my credit card it was inconvenient at 10pm. I had a much better experience when I transferred to the Hampton Inn. This owner doesn’t follow corporate policy.

Beware Of The Best Western In Canon City Colorado

Top 10 Best Tourist Places To Visit in USA | USA Tourism

After checking in my Granddaughter ran to the pool area to see if there were any other kids swimming in the pool. The first thing out of her mouth was Papa, the water is brown. Obviously there weren’t any other kids in the pool. I walked over to the hot tub and although the water was clear, it wasn’t hot. We left there and went to our room and were hit with this horrible smell when we opened the door. Neither one of us wanted to stay here. There was a Hampton Inn a block away so we decided to go check their availability. As we were walking down the hallway to leave we noticed brown and yellow water stains on the ice machine with an “out of order” sign on it. After arriving at the Hampton Inn we told the person behind the desk what just happened and if we could have a quick tour of the pool area and one of the rooms. Her name was Kendra and she was very helpful and patient. Everything looked fantastic so we called Hotels.com, and explained everything and asked if they could transfer our stay from the Best Western to the Hampton Inn. The guy put me on hold while he called the Best Western to request a transfer. After getting back on the phone he told me the Best Western was going to enforce their “24 hour-no cancellation policy” and would not cancel the reservation. Although we couldn’t get our money back we didn’t stay there because of health concerns and poor conditions. The Hampton Inn was fantastic in every way. Steve Shaffer

Read Also: Cheap Stay In Los Angeles

Experience The Royal Gorge Bridge And Park

There are several adventures at the Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, both natural wonders and those created for the thrill-seeker. At over 956 feet above the Arkansas River, the bridge is one of the worlds highest suspension bridges. Walk or drive across the slatted bridge to discover fun activities on both sides of the gorge.

In addition to the stunning views overlooking the canyon, there are several adventures waiting for those who arent faint of heart. Im not a thrill-seeker, but my companion reveled in riding the gondola across the canyon and zip-lining on the Cloudscraper Zip Line. Neither of us dared try the Skycoaster with its 50-miles-per-hour free fall.

For those who want to try climbing, theres a mountaineering experience on the gorge walls called Via Ferrata. You can hike and climb the granite rock walls on a guided climbing tour, with different challenge levels from easy to difficult.

Very Clean Great Accommodations

I came over with my son for a two day trip. The lobby was spotless, despite the fact that most travelers had dirty footwear from the bad weather en route. The lobby smelled like it had just been deep cleaned, very pleasant. Mark at the front desk is friendly, and courteous. The room, upstairs and on the back side, was very clean, all amenities in order, and quiet. An all around great stay, and for less than $100/night, and excellent value!

BWCanonCity-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Canon City, responded to this review Dear Dan E We would like to thank you for staying w us, and we love that you decided to do a review here on tripadviser. It sounds like you were pleased with your last visite and that is what we like to hear. We all work hard to try and make sure the guests experience is as good as we can make it. Keep us in mind the next time your in the area and are in need of lodging.

Read Also: Best Area To Stay In Punta Cana

Royal Gorge Cabins Luxury Cabins In The Wild

In Royal Gorge Cabins, feel free to connect with yourself, nature and your family and friends as you enjoy the stunning cabins built by professional outfitters who have 40 years of experience to share with their guests

Royal Gorge Cabins is a one-of-a-kind luxury cabin experience. If youve watched any cabin design show on TV, their cabins are quite similar than what youve seen. Though they have a lot of cabins, they are also offering spaces for RVs and trailers.

Although quite removed from downtown, it still has access to the major attractions in Cañon City. Its also just one hour away from Colorado Springs. fAt the same time, you can enjoy different types of activities that are just within or near the property like Echo Canyon Rafting, Jeep Tours near Royal Gorge, mountain biking, zip lining, and golf.

To top off your daily activities, you can create your home-made cuisines in the cabins complete kitchen, or you can dine out to nearby restaurants like the 8 Mile Bar & Grill, Le Petit Chablis, and the Big Burger World.

There are two types of cabins: single king bed and double king bed. The single king bed cabin is a one-bedroom property with a sofa sleeper that can accommodate up to four people. It has mountain vista views and modern amenities similar to a 5-star hotel.

The bigger cabin is a two-story property with two bedrooms with 816 square feet of indoor space and about 400 square feet of outdoor living space.

Pleasant Stay Hearty Breakfast

The 12 Most Beautiful Places in Colorado

Stayed here over Valentine’s Day weekend and got one of their rooms with a jetted tub. The jetted tub was oversized and very nice. King bed was comfortable. The room also had a refrigerator and microwave. Overall, the room was very nice–could use a few touch-ups here and there to make it perfect, but no major complaints. Bonus points for having light bulbs in the fixtures that actually put out lots of light–so many hotels seem to opt for 25W bulbs these days. Our room was near the elevator, so we did get a little noise from that. Also, the fridge made a bit of noise, so if you’re sensitive to noises while you sleep, you may want to request a room without one. The breakfast buffet was hearty and included hot items besides just waffles–there were scrambled eggs, and biscuits and gravy, and sausage patties, and potatoes. This was all in addition to the usual breakfast bar stuff, like cereal and bagels and pastries and coffee and juice. Also, there was a mini-fridge full of yogurt cups. The breakfast room was crowded when we were in there–looked like a couple of middle-school girls’ basketball teams were housed in the hotel that weekend–but the frenzied staff still managed to keep everything stocked. Staff were friendly, pleasant, and helpful. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

You May Like: Top Oahu Resorts

Latest news
Related news